The temple’s name translates to “Good Luck Temple”, and features an ubosot, a viharn, a chedi, a Ho Tai scripture library, and a Burmese style sala.
Wat Duang Dee Chiang Mai, History, Opening Hours & Address Location
Back then, the temple was known as Wat Ton Mak Nua, but Wat Duang Dee was mentioned in several ancient documents stating that in 1761, a monk named Chao Khihut was once the ruler of Chiang Mai. In 1819, Prince Thammalangka of Chiang Mai renovated the temple. The long, rich history of northern Thailand contributes to the unique aspects of this temple, making it a must-see for anyone interested in the history of the Lanna kingdom.
The viharn, or the temple’s assembly hall, combines Lanna and Thai influences in its design. Constructed during the 19th century, the viharn features gold barge boards that are adorned with the mythological naga serpents as guardians. A golden chofa embellishes the rooftop and a pair of small mythological lions known as chinthe guard the stairs leading to the viharn’s entrance. Inside the viharn is a large pedestal, and many small beautiful Buddha statues surround it.
The Ho Trai, or the scripture library building, is a central feature that should not be missed. It was built in 1829, although it has recently undergone restoration. Since the Ho Trai is locked most times, visitors can admire the stunning Lanna flower motifs that adorn the entrance and windows.
Wat Duang Dee is opposite the Wat Inthakin. It is open daily whenever there is daylight and admission is free.