Home » Attractions » Wat Phra Kaew Don Tao Suchadaram
Wat Phra Kaew Don Tao Suchadaram

Wat Phra Kaew Don Tao Suchadaram

The Wat Phra Kaew Don Tao Suchadaram is a popular centuries-old temple in Lampang.

Also known as the temple of the Emerald Buddha, the imposing chedi is one of its most striking features alongside the Burmese shrine and the Thai sala.

Wat Phra Kaew Don Tao Suchadaram to Opening Hours, Address, Lampang

Located in the Lampang province, the temple’s rich historical significance dates back to the years between 1782 and 1809, which was when the Chiang Saen people were captured and forced to relocate to Khelang town. The locals believe that the temple was built to serve as a home, as well as the watermelon farm, of the Goddess Suchada and that she once found an emerald within a watermelon. She offered the gem to one of the great monks of the time, who then hired a craftsman to carve it into a beautiful image of Buddha, which was called Phra Kaew Don Tao. The image was then enshrined at the Wat Phra That Lampang Luang.

Legend also has it that Mrs Suchada and the monk had committed adultery, which resulted in her execution, while the monk escaped with the image of Buddha. Some faithful locals then donated money to establish a temple in the house of Mrs Suchada, which was then called Wat Suchadaram. Afterwards, many believed that the area was deserted and in August of 1984, the Ministry of Education combined the href=”https://www.chiangmaitravelhub.com/chiang-rai/wat-phra-kaew/”>Wat Phra Kaew Don Tai and the temple to its current name, Wat Phra Kaew Don Tao Suchadaram.

The temple has many notable features, including astounding interior walls which are embellished with colourful stones. The ornate ceiling was covered in enamel, while the traditional Thai sala houses a reclining Buddha in true Sukhothai fashion. It was believed that the Emerald Buddha stayed here for a few decades until a succeeding king was eventually able to move it to Chiang Mai.